Call Ripley’s I’ve got one for the record!


I have met one of the coolest motorcycle salesmen ever!! After my last post I was beginning to believe it wasn’t possible. Let me tell you how this all came about … my husband surprised me and brought me to a motorcycle dealer about 30 minutes from our home called the Hitching Post. This dealer carries Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, and Yamaha motorcycles!

Not that I was screaming for joy when he pulled in the parking lot, but let’s just say I was at the front door before he was even out of the car! When we entered hubs went right for the bikes and I lagged behind looking at the clothing. A guy behind the parts counter yelled over to say hi to me. {I did look around to make sure he was talking to me.} Wow. Great first impression.

After poking around the accessories, I went and found hubby talking with Tim one of the salesman. When I walked up Tim immediately acknowledged me and congratulated me on getting my motorcycle license. He also included me in on their conversation about the motorcycle hubs was sitting on.

 

Tim S. super star salesman from the Hitching Post

 

The fun part for me was that Tim asked me so many questions! Like how long have I been riding, what kind of cycle do I ride, how’s it for handling, did I wear all my gear, and so much more! Now many of you are thinking I must have died and gone to heaven, but that is not the case. In fact, I saw woman who came in alone to look at motorcycles and another salesman approached and talked with her. It’s a miracle! Okay, joking aside it was very refreshing for me to finally engage in a conversation with this salesman who was interested in talking with me. I felt validated.

In the end Tim did a great job of talking to both of us. Whether my hubby was with me or not I believe Tim would have treated me the same – as a bona fide motorcyclist!

Hitching Post, you get a helmet nod from me!

8 responses to “Call Ripley’s I’ve got one for the record!

  1. Good to hear there are a few good salesmen out there who realize that women have purchasing power too. I had a good salesman when I bought my Honda scoot – Tony at RJ’s in Duluth. But a lot of times that’s not the case. My stepdaughter in Houston was totally ignored by the sales staff in the first car dealership she went to and ended up going to another one across town to buy her new SUV. Some day they’ll realize that by not taking women seriously they lose sales. Good post!

  2. It has amazed me since before I started riding until now just how different dealerships can be. It is a great feeling when you find one that “fits”.

    -Allen

  3. Hello,
    I just wanted to thank you Pam for your kind words. Please let me know if I can assist you or your husband any further? I hope you have been enjoying your motorcycle. If anybody else has any interest in any new products I sell Yamaha, Honda, Suzuki and Kawsaki.

    If so please feel free to call or email me with any questions.
    763-502-9400 ext 1315 and email is sales7hpm@hponline.com
    Thanks again & Happy motorcycling.

  4. Very cool. Why does common courtesy surprise us in these instances? Tim sure gets it! Bravo for Tim and the Hitching Post.

  5. The thing that blows my mind about all this is that the most male and female need to consult with there spouse before purchasing. Not many just buy without other knowing. Sometimes I meet the wife first and then the husband and vice versa etc. It all usually plays out the same, in the end you get to meet both. So to say that men have more purchasing power than women is wrong. From what I see it is usually a joint effort and sometimes the guys buy solo and vice versa. My thoughts are all the money spends the same in the end. I would assume most would agree.

  6. Great story, glad you connected with someone who “gets it”! It’s way too common for just the opposite to happen: gal walks in, immediately gets directed to the apparel section. LOL Or worse, ignored while looking at bikes. For several years, I would walk in to our local HD dealership and the same salesman was always chatty and friendly – even though he knew I wasn’t likely in the market to buy a bike, he always treated me with the same enthusiasm as his latest buyer. When it came time to buy my new bike, I wouldn’t deal with anyone but him. He was wonderful, and STILL treats me like that! (In fact, they ALL treat me like that there! LOL)

    Tim, congrats on figuring out that a rider is a rider regardless of gender – you’d be surprised how often women have negative experiences in this regard. I think there’s so much “joint consultation” because it’s a big-ticket item, don’t you? I would consider any large purchase like this to be a joint decision, and I know my husband feels the same. Either one of us would be pretty hard-pressed to spend that much without consulting the other.

  7. Pingback: 2010 in review | Helmet or Heels: I'm comfortable in either!

  8. Pingback: 2010 in review

Leave a comment