Profile of a Female Motorcyclist: Meet Sue a.k.a. @Suzknight4


Don’t you love meeting new people? I do. That’s why I hope we never run out of lady riders wanting to sharing their stories! Whether they are a newbie like me or a road warrior with years of experience, I am always encouraged and gain new wisdom from each woman!

I met my next guest Sue, from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in cyber space – Twitter to be exact: @Suzknight4. Also, check out her web site Vision Eye Art. It is a business where a unique optical company and art gallery come together in one location! Hum, who’s thinking road trip to Milwaukee? We have met a few friends from there. I can think of at least three fabulous female motorcyclist: Rania, Mary, and Beth! And now we can add Sue to that list! [Chime in if I missed you!]

How long have you been riding a motorcycle? I had my first riding experience a long time ago. (As the baby sister with 3 big brothers, I had a chance to ride their dirt bikes as a kid). I later moved on to other things-windsurfing, canoeing, traveling and bicycling, and forgot about riding motorcycles. Then, 3 years ago, I became really obsessed with getting a motorcycle. I went with my gut.

How did you learn to ride? I took a class.

What was your first motorcycle? 1983 Honda Nighthawk CB650. The neighbor just happened to park it in front of my house, with a for sale sign on it, at the height of my urge to get a bike. Much like pets, he found me…

How many have you owned? Just the Nighthawk, so far. But I have my eye on a Suzuki Boulevard C50T.

Sue and her Honda 650 Nighthawk!

Why did you want to ride a motorcycle? I’ve always had a huge sense of adventure and a love of the outdoors. Wisconsin has beautiful rolling hills and scenic areas to explore. It’s an extension of my love of getting around by bicycle. Now, I can go farther.

Many years ago, my good friend and I talked about getting bikes. She did it. But I put it off, as I was about to start a family. Initially, I thought it would be irresponsible to ride a bike when my kids were so little. Now I feel that it is a powerful way to set an example for my two young daughters. I want them to grow up with confidence and the knowledge that women can do anything they put their minds to and live life to the fullest!

Look at these two sweethearts!

Tell us about your riding. As a small business owner and mother of two young girls, I have to squeeze rides in whenever I can. I do take the bike to work when possible. I get girls night out occasionally to go to “bike night” at the Harley-Davidson Museum and Iron Horse Hotel, two of the great offerings in Milwaukee. And I take short weekend rides with my friends.

What advice do you have for women who ride or want to ride a motorcycle? Take a class, start out easy, and find a good group of people to ride with. Get out there and do it. It is a great feeling to ride.

What is the longest trip that you’ve taken on your cycle? I’m still waiting for that epic trip. So far, it’s just been day trips around the Kettle Moraine Forest and Lake country. The most I’ve done in a day is around 150 miles.

Do you belong to any motorcycle groups? I ride with a local women’s riding club – RockerfoxMC (find them here on Facebook and Twitter). We go on rides and out to Sunday brunch to talk bikes, etc.

Do you have a favorite riding story? There was one Sunday when I cleared my schedule and convince some friends to ride, even though the weather forecast was not good. I think they agreed to join me just because I don’t get too many opportunities to ride, and I really wanted to go. It was a good ride until it came time to turn east to head home. There was a most intense bank of black clouds right where we were headed. I love a good storm, so it was pretty cool to see it looming before us. As we hit it, it was an absolute deluge of massive rain drops. I was really enjoying the feel of the rain, until we stopped for a friend who wasn’t seeing well, and then I realized how soaked and cold I actually was. I’m thankful that my friends put up with it. For me, it was a wonderful experience. I got home just as the sun broke through, and a beautiful double rainbow smiled down on me!

Double rainbow!

I look forward to many more years on the bike and a new adventure at every turn.

What do you do when you’re not riding? I enjoy traveling, spending time with my family, bicycling, going to the beach, camping, and water sports – kayaking, canoeing, wave running, swimming, boating, etc. I’ve been a windsurfer for years, and would like to try kite boarding next. I’m always looking for my next adventure. Maybe I’ll get a sidecar and take the kids on a cross country voyage.

4 responses to “Profile of a Female Motorcyclist: Meet Sue a.k.a. @Suzknight4

  1. Go, Sue! I love her attitude. And, yes, she’s a role model of courage.

  2. Hooray for another lady rider being a positive influence on her daughters. How long before Sue gets them little dirt bikes to ride on in the backyard?

    Nice to meet you Sue and welcome to the wonderful world of motorcycling.

  3. I love your backyard rides in the moraines!! And the sidecar rig sounds fabulous!!

Leave a comment