How it all started …


My journey into motorcycling started on a shopping trip to the Mall of America with my husband. True story! My hubby and I wanted to do something different one Saturday and we some how landed on the idea of going to the Mall. Last trip there was over five years ago.

We were not looking for anything in particular so we wandered around window shopping. I don’t even remember where we were when Geoff suddenly lit up and pointed out a Harley Davidson store! The Mall of America does have something for everyone!!

Inside the store we saw a really cool Harley anchored to floor, clothing, leathers, toys and more! Geoff mentioned it would be fun to have a motorcycle again and I found myself agreeing. When we were first married, 30 years ago, Geoff had a motorcycle that we rode all over the place. Unfortunately that bike was sold before we made a long distance move. He did get another bike a number of years later, but ended up selling that one too. I wasn’t comfortable with being parents of small children and owning a motorcycle!

That’s not the case now, our kids grown and out of the house, so the thought of having a motorcycle became very appealing. And by time I left the store I thought it would be great to have a bike of my own! Back in the day Geoff tried to teach me to ride even though it wasn’t too acceptable for women. Not any more!

Not any more is right! Today a woman can wear a helmet or heels and still be considered a girly girl! I left the Mall energized about my dream of learning to ride and getting my own motorcycle.

8 responses to “How it all started …

  1. You go girl! Rock the chaps. Rock the heels! I look forward to reading your journey… from desiring one to driving one!

  2. Cool. I remember when you posted that picture on Twitter way back when. However, I’m just now learning that was the day you decided to get all tatted-up and join the biking world.

    You’re gonna love it. The biking world, not the tats. That probably hurts like the dickens.

  3. Pingback: Profile of a Female Motorcyclist: Meet Pam a.k.a. Helmet or Heels | Helmet or Heels: I'm comfortable in either!

  4. Pingback: Blog Challenge: 5 Pretty Awesome Posts You Might’ve Missed | Helmet or Heels: I'm comfortable in either!

  5. Pingback: Profile of a Female Motorcyclist: Meet Grace a.k.a. @SeismicCoach | Helmet or Heels: I'm comfortable in either!

  6. Pingback: Profile of a Female Motorcyclist Meet Grace - Helmet or Heels

  7. Pingback: Blog Challenge: 5 Pretty Awesome Posts You Might've Missed - Helmet or Heels

  8. Pingback: Profile of a Female Motorcyclist Meet Pam - Helmet or Heels

Leave a comment