Fall Food Challenge!


A recent tweet from @JuJu21 (meet her here)  got me thinking about cool weather food! She had declared oatmeal season officially open and I chimed in with chili, and her response was soup too! And then I thought I’d throw out a challenge to see what Fall food you like too. If you blog, blog about it and let me know I’ll link to your post. If you want to submit a recipe via the comments, please do! I love trying new recipes. Here’s mine! A long family favorite tradition.

Apple Pancake
You’ll need a seasoned 10 1/2″ cast iron frying pan and preheat the oven 400 F.
Ingredients
3/4 cup milk
3 eggs
3 tablespoons sugar
3/4 cup flour
4 to 6 apples

Peel and cut apples. Saute in butter using the cast iron frying pan. Set aside.

Beat eggs; add remaining ingredients. Beat until smooth. Pour mixture over sauteed apples. Bake 15 minutes. Sprinkle sugar/cinnamon mix over top and dot with butter. Bake 5 minutes more.

Old Fashion Apple Pancakes

Enjoy! And share your favorite too!

18 responses to “Fall Food Challenge!

  1. Those look tasty, think I can veganize them? Hmmm.

    We do a lot of soups and casseroles this time of year. I started up a separate food blog so stay tuned on that for fall recipes. I made quick and easy apple dumplings last night for dessert so I’ll try and get those posted on the weekend. In fact I’ll post them on my moto blog to accept your challenge, but I have to wait until I get home from work.

    Here is a link to my food blog: http://trobairitztable.blogspot.com/

  2. MMMM I am getting hungry now! It definitely is oatmeal season, I have been eating it for breakfast for the last 2 weeks, need something hearty to stick to the ribs on a cold commute morning. I will think of a good shareable recipe and post it. Yumm the apple pancake looks fabulous!

  3. in our house it’s all about comfort food right now and i’ve just made some chocolate meringue cookies which are gone in 60 seconds!

  4. Wow, cool–I started something–something hot and delicious! Can’t wait to try your recipe. And here’s mine (since my blog has been languishing for a while now).
    Sausage Tortellini Soup
    1 lb. hot Italian sausage
    1 onion, diced
    42 ounces (3 12-oz cans) beef broth
    28 ounces canned diced tomatoes (I use Del Monte with basil, garlic, and oregano)
    2 carrots, sliced thin
    2 zucchini, quartered and sliced thin (or 1 1/2 cups green beans, cut to spoon size)
    16 oz tortellini (I like the fresher kind from the dairy case, but dried is good, too)
    Parmesan cheese, grated, for garnish
    Squeeze the sausage out of the casings and brown well, along with the onion. Drain the fat off if necessary.
    Add broth, tomatoes, and carrots. Simmer for 30 minutes.
    Add green beans and simmer for a few minutes.
    Add tortellini and simmer until done, according to package directions.
    Serve hot, topped with grated Parmesan and hunks of crusty bread.
    (Got a photo, but can’t figure out how to post it here.)
    At our house, we can’t get enough of this!

  5. Keep those recipes and blog links coming!!

  6. I am all ears and eyes for comfort food, and currently converting my favourite recipes into the vegan alternative.

  7. Oh yum. This looks delicious! I will have to figure another way of cookie since I don’t have a cast iron skillet! 😉

  8. Pam:

    you caught me “off cycle”. We use our slow cooker a lot but we just finished making spare ribs with meat that falls off the bone. And I also do a quick pork chops in a roasting pan, on top of onions and marinated with lemon slices. But we just made those recently and may be a week or so before we cycle back to them. So I can’t come up with any photos yet. We also use our slow cooker to make “pulled Pork”. For vegetables we always steam broccoli or cauliflower

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast
    My Flickr // My YouTube

Leave a comment