Profile of a Female Motorcyclist: Meet Kathy a.k.a. Guz


My next guest was sent over to me from @OrgChaosChicago, her name is Kathy “Guz” Guzman motorcyclist extraordinaire and blogger!

How long have you been riding a motorcycle? I have been riding for 38 years

How did you learn to ride? My dad bought my brother and I Honda 70 trail bikes.  I sat on it and just took off.  The wide knobby tires and bulky frame made it a perfect way to learn to ride.

What was your first motorcycle?  The Honda 70 Trail Bike.

Honda 70 Trail Bike

Honda 70 Trail Bike

How many have you owned?  I have owned 3 bikes in my life time.  The little Honda – a Kawasaki 550LTD that I rode all through college and my Harley Sportster.

Why did you want to ride a motorcycle?  Freedom.  Time alone inside my own head while trail riding as a kid.  The open road and untold adventures the ride gives me as an adult.  Freedom.

Tell us about your riding.  I ride because I ride.  I take my bike everywhere.  Tooling around the city, long road trips like Black Hills and charity runs through neighboring communities.  I ride year round – and living in Chicago – that is saying something!!

Freedom!

Freedom!

What advice do you have for women who ride or want to ride a motorcycle?  Get out there and do it.  Follow your passion – the ride will never disappoint.

What is the longest trip that you’ve taken on your cycle?  The longest road trip I have made was from Chicago to Sturgis and back again last summer.  15 women, bikes and the open, unpredictable roads – I can’t put into words how amazing it was.  Actually – I can – and I did – check it out here

Do you belong to any motorcycle groups?  Yes – *Organized Chaos Chicago – a woman’s motorcycle club.

me and leah rain

Do you have a favorite riding story?  So many really – each time I get on the back of my bike there is a new story being woven into the fabric of my life.  Riding with like minded women is a gift to me – the camaraderie and laughter shared – there is nothing like it in the world.

What do you do when you’re not riding?  Think about riding.

*Organized Chaos Chicago is a women’s motorcycle group, committed to creating a local community of women motorcyclists and friends of women motorcyclists.  Our mission is to support philanthropic endeavors in all communities, while reaching out to empower a community of diverse women through rides, charity events, Pride events and education. (Source)

3 responses to “Profile of a Female Motorcyclist: Meet Kathy a.k.a. Guz

  1. Riding year-round in Chicago is an amazing feat. My helmet’s off to Kathy!

  2. I love your comments about why you ride. I feel exactly the same. I always wonder why people DON’T ride. Driving a car is SO boring.

  3. hellllooooo Kathy/Guz.

    One again it is nice to hear of another lady rider who loves being out on two wheels. Keep on riding and enjoying life.

    I used to ride on my mom’s little Honda trail bike so that brought back a few memories.

Leave a Reply

